REVISED SWITCHLISTS

RedAsh

Operating allows us to find inadequacies within our scheme.  One such inadequacy was found on the passenger/express car switching side of the layout.

In my previous switch lists I had failed to show in what order, direction-wise, the cars needed to be made up for taking them from the passenger car service building or REA platforms to the passenger platforms (staging).  As seen below, the new switch lists indicate the direction (east/west) and order.  This also helps me staging the cars properly because they are stored away in boxes.

switchlistrevised

Also, as originally intended, the switching on the passenger/express car side is a leisurely affair.  It is for someone who would like to have fun making switch moves without any pressures of following a schedule like the black board on the engine terminal.  I had left this fairly unconstrained (which explains the first change noted above).  However, it was suggested to me that someone might like to work under pressure to meet a deadline.  In that case, I can offer an alternate switch list with a column where I enter the times (column “Due”) when the switching needs to be completed, as seen below.

switchlisttimed

We learn as we go.

And along that tack…

Researching the prototype can bite you!  My 12-1 Pullman RED ASH was indeed in pool service on the New York Central in the era of my interest.  It was, unfortunately, destroyed in the tragic wreck of the Lake Shore Limited at Little Falls, NY on 19 April 1940.  Fillmore is set in June of 1942!  I found this out by recently reviewing Thomas C. Madden’s excellent website ThePullmanProject.  It has a ton of data on what appears to be all Pullman heavyweight and lightweight cars, some technical info, but not much for pictures.

I have no immediate plans to rename RED ASH to another RED-series car, but if I do then I will know where to look first.

