HOMEMADE LAMP POSTS

IMG_3289.jpg

The working lamps around Fillmore are home made.  My thinking at the time was to achieve something a little finer and more scale-like.

Some years ago I saw an article by John Licharson in Model Railroader (June 1994).  Basically, I took the design he offered and made some changes.  The construction is relatively simple as seen below:

LampPost

I use the Miniatronics 12V light bulb and shade assembly (unpainted brass).  I have found that the assembled lights sit deeper inside the shade, as opposed to buying the bulbs and shades separately which don’t fit as well.  When first making the lights inside the roundhouse, I did not pay attention to the assembled seating.  The result can be a bulb that protrudes below the shade, which I don’t like but I’ll live with.  I use their 12V regulated power supply (1Amp) and can put up to 30-33 lights on one such power pack.  Fillmore has three such power packs, so although I haven’t counted, I must have about 60 lights scattered about.

After making nearly all the lamp posts over a period of time, I made the last four using a fixture.  All this is is a piece of 1×2 (about 2″ long).  I have a 1/16″ hole drilled for the post.  Then there is a hole for the light bulb, pitched the distance of the “L” bracket.  The lamp shade sub-assembly is inserted into the hole and held with tape.  The post is held at the desired height using the blue-tack (tacky putty) under the fixture.  This makes soldering the assembly easier.

Light can leak out the top of the shade.  I put some liquid wiring insulation there as a covering.  Prior to painting I apply some Tamiya Tape to the stem (that goes into the base) to mask it from paint.  I also put some blue-tack on the bulb.  The lamp post assembly is airbrushed Grimy Black and dry brushed my usual enamel Testors Dark Gull Grey.

These light can also be wall mounted.

LampPost-Wall

I have a number of these over doorways.

IMG_1147

These lights are small, but I did not find them difficult to assemble.

