HANDY HANDLE

The following tool is not an original idea, but I think it is worthwhile mentioning.  Someone I know spent a lot of time building a resin box car (and did a nice job of it) but in a moment of inattention laid it down and crushed the delicate stirrups.

I like to use a simple handle, made from a 1/4″ wide brass strip with a hole at each end, for painting car models.

IMG_3255

It simply attaches where the truck screw holes are…

IMG_3256

…it keeps fingers well away from airbrush spray….

IMG_3257

…and it prevents one from laying the model down on the delicate underbody details.  Of course, we still need to be careful of the other fine details, but I find that I usually lay the model roof-down on my soft-foam cradle.  I do have to be conscious if there is a vertical brake staff.

