LAYOUT STORAGE

When not using my layout, it is rolled into a corner of the living room in my condominium apartment.  To minimize on dust accumulation, fitted cloth covers go over the layout and my two portable staging trolleys.

IMG_1812

Early on in the building of the layout, the cover was supported by wire hoops.  One day, while vacuuming, I put my elbow through the side of the cover and realized that had I built the roundhouse there, I’d be doing a lot of rework to fix it.  I’m such a klutz, but this was a blessing.  I made removable hardboard sides to protect the models on the layout from side-knocks.  These lift out when deploying the layout for operations, as shown in the picture below.

IMG_2140

The hardboard sides are held in place with gibs, the details of these are shown below.

IMG_2141

I use these gibs to insert a plexiglas strip that extends 1″ above the scenery to keep the locomotives and rolling stock on the layout and off the floor!

